January 14, 2016

Kent Nutt
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TAMEST Conference to Explore Opportunities and Challenges of Advanced Materials

Dallas, Texas—The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) will hold its annual conference January 20-22, 2016, at The Westin Galleria Dallas. The conference theme, Materials for the 21st Century: Challenges and Opportunities, will highlight recent developments in materials science and engineering that are and will be leading to qualitative changes in the way products are manufactured, the way medicine is practiced, and the way energy is provided to our society.

“Advances in materials science and engineering are needed to meet these challenges, and exciting opportunities are emerging in materials design and processing that could enable new approaches to these critical problems,” says Alan Needleman of Texas A&M University, program chair for the 2016 TAMEST Annual Conference. “This program will provide a window into materials science and engineering developments that will affect how we will live and how we will do business in the 21st century, and highlight areas where Texas can achieve a leadership role in cutting-edge materials research and innovation.”

The design and production of more advanced materials will help scientists and researchers confront the major challenges of our time, including sustainable energy, biomedicine, and space exploration. Keynote speakers include Joseph DeSimone, winner of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, who will talk about advances in 3D printing, and Emily Carter of Princeton, who will discuss how advanced materials can help address global climate change.

This year’s conference will kick off with an opening reception welcoming new members and honoring two champions of the organization who have provided stewardship throughout TAMEST's history, Dr. Larry R. Faulkner and Kenneth M. Jastrow ll, with The Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award. The award was established in 2013 to recognize individuals and organizations that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in furthering TAMEST's mission.

The TAMEST Annual Conference will also feature the O’Donnell Awards ceremony on Thursday, January 21, 2016, where recipients of the 2016 awards will be honored for excellence in medicine, engineering, science, and technology innovation. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the O'Donnell Awards, and this important milestone will be celebrated at the annual awards dinner and reception. Over $1 million has been awarded to 44 recipients since the inception of the program.

Members of the media are encouraged to attend; complimentary press registration is available by contacting Kent Nutt (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) or Terrence Henry (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) of TAMEST.

Don’t miss this important event and a unique opportunity to engage the state’s top achievers and researchers in medicine, engineering, science, and technology innovation. For further information and the conference agenda, please visit

WHAT:     TAMEST 2016 Annual Conference — Materials for the 21st Century: Challenges and Opportunities

WHEN:     Wednesday-Friday, January 20-22, 2016

WHERE:   Dallas Ballroom, The Westin Galleria Dallas, 13340 Dallas Parkway, Dallas

WHO:       Keynote speakers: Emily Carter, Ph.D., Founding Director of the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment at Princeton University; Joseph DeSimone, Ph.D., Chancellor’s Eminent Professor of Chemistry at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Julia Greer, Ph.D., Professor of Materials Science, Mechanics and Medical Engineering at The California Institute of Technology; and Samuel Stupp, Ph.D., Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry and Medicine at Northwestern University.


The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) was founded in 2004 to provide broader recognition of the state’s top achievers in medicine, engineering, and science, and to further position Texas as a national research leader. TAMEST also aims to foster the next generation of scientists and to increase the awareness and communication among the state’s best and brightest about research priorities for the future.

TAMEST’s membership represents Texas’ best researchers from both industry and academia. TAMEST is composed of more than 260 Texas-based members of the three National Academies—National Academy of Medicine (NAM), National Academy of Engineering (NAE), and National Academy of Sciences (NAS)—and the state’s nine Nobel Laureates. Learn more:

Connect with TAMEST: Twitter | LinkedIn | Medium | Facebook

# # #