TAMEST Welcomes Six Texans Elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2024

2024 nas elections

TAMEST is proud to welcome five new members and one current member elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2024. The six were among the 120 members and 24 international members elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The new cohort of NAS members brings our TAMEST membership to 349 members.

Meet our new NAS Members:

  • Sharon Y.R. Dent, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Epigenetics and Molecular Carcinogenesis, and Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and UTHealth Houston
  • Kristen M. Harris, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Neuroscience, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Reese Harvey, Ph.D., Edgar Odell Lovett Professor and Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Rice University
  • William J. Murphy, Ph.D., Professor of Genetics and James E. Womack University Professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M University
  • Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Ph.D. (NAE), Executive Vice President for Research and Professor of Materials Science and Nanoengineering, Department of Materials Science and Nanoengineering, Rice University
  • Keiko Torii, Ph.D., Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and Professor and Johnson & Johnson Centennial Chair in Plant Cell Biology, The University of Texas at Austin and Nagoya University, Japan

TAMEST will celebrate these elections and welcome new members at the opening reception of our TAMEST 2025 Annual Conference on February 4, 2025, in Irving, Texas.


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.