Register Now: 2020 Annual Conference

Join us for the TAMEST 2020 Annual Conference: Innovating Texas, January 7-9, 2020, at the Fairmont Dallas hotel. This event will explore how basic research leads to new technologies, products and companies and showcase avenues to commercialization for researchers across an array of disciplines.

Learn More >

Brian Korgel, Ph.D.

TAMEST Protégé Program Celebrates 15 Years of Inspiring the Next Generation of Scientists and Researchers

Fifteen years ago, Professor Brian Korgel, Ph.D., was invited to be a “Protégé” at TAMEST’s first-ever conference. At the time, Dr. Korgel, the Ernest Cockrell Jr. Memorial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, had no real idea what it meant to be accepted into a National Academy.

“I remember feeling like I was brought into an inner circle that I didn’t know existed,” Dr. Korgel said. “My Ph.D. and postdoctoral advisors weren’t a part of the National Academies, so I wasn’t exposed to its potential before becoming a protégé.”

Learn more >

TAMEST and UT Southwestern Networking Reception and Simulation Center Tour

Preview: UT Southwestern Medical Center Hosts TAMEST for Tour of Leading-Edge Simulation Center

UT Southwestern Medical Center will host TAMEST members and others in the research community for a networking reception and tour of their new cutting-edge simulation center on the evening of September 24, 2019.

“This event is an opportunity to not only showcase the advancements taking place at our member institutions, but to gather our most gifted minds in the region together in one place,” said Dr. Amelie G. Ramirez, board president of TAMEST.

Learn more >

Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D.

Profile: Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. (NAM, NAS)

It was thanks to her clinical training as a pediatric neurologist that Dr. Huda Zoghbi first unveiled a passion for researching neurogenetics. Early in her career, Dr. Zoghbi says learning how devastating neurological disorders are for patients was tough. However, she says it was even harder to not know what caused the disorders she saw in her young patients in the first place.

From there, Dr. Zoghbi decided to study molecular biology and genetics to identify the underlying causes of certain diseases in hopes of improving their management.

Learn more >


National Academy of Sciences Elects Texan from Baylor College of Medicine

TAMEST welcomes David Moore, Ph.D., to our organization who was recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Moore is professor of molecular and cellular biology, medicine and molecular and human genetics at Baylor College of Medicine.

Learn more >


National Academy of Engineering Elects 4 Texas Members

TAMEST is pleased to welcome several new members to our organization who were recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering:

  • Dereje Agonafer, Ph.D., Jenkins Garrett Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, The University of Texas at Arlington
  • Yassin A. Hassan, Ph.D., Sallie & Don Davis ’61 Professor in Engineering, Department of Nuclear Engineering and the J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University
  • Mary Pat Moyer, Ph.D., Founder, CEO and Chief Science Officer, INCELL Corp. LLC, San Antonio
  • Wanda A. Sigur, Retired Vice President and Deputy General Manager, Civil Space, Lockheed Martin Corporation, Seabrook, Texas

Learn more >