new members

New 2017 TAMEST Members

TAMEST welcomed 18 new members in 2017, bringing our total number of members to 294.

Of these new members, 8 were elected to one of the National Academies in 2017, and 10 became members as a result of their relocation to Texas.

Learn more >


2018 TAMEST Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards Recipients Announced

Defining a new class of diseases. Advancing technology that could revolutionize how windows are used in modern architecture. And creating materials that could open the door to major advances in energy, communications and computing. These are the discoveries by Texas’ rising stars in research being honored with the 2018 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards by TAMEST.

2018 TAMEST Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards Recipients:

  • Medicine: Jordan Scott Orange, M.D., Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine
  • Engineering: Delia Milliron, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
  • Science: Xiaoqin Elaine Li, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Learn more >


National Academy of Medicine Elects Three Texas Members

TAMEST congratulates the three Texas-based members recently elected to the National Academy of Medicine:

  • Carrie Lynn Byington, M.D.dean of medicine and senior vice president, Health Science Center, and vice chancellor for health services, Texas A&M University
  • Gerard E. Francisco, M.D.chair and professor, department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston McGovern Medical School; and chief medical officer, TIRR Memorial Hermann Hospital
  • Craig Jordan, OBE, Ph.D, D.Sc., FMedSci, FAACRprofessor of breast medical oncology, and professor of molecular and cellular oncology, University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Learn more >

Hurricane Harvey

Spirit of Support: Coming Together After Hurricane Harvey

In the wake of Hurricane Harvey, The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) stands with our scientists and researchers and their organizations as they begin the long road to recovery from this devastating storm.

Photo Credit: Tech. Sgt. Larry E. Reid Jr., U.S. Air Force

Learn more >

report cover

TAMEST Shale Task Force Briefs Texas House Energy Resources Committee on Report

On July 26, members of the TAMEST Shale Task Force and TAMEST President Gordon England briefed the Texas House Energy Resources Committee about the findings of the shale report, focusing on key highlights from the overall report as well as from the seismicity, water and transportation chapters:


Learn more >

report cover

New Report Looks at Six Key Impact Areas of Shale Development in Texas

Development of shale oil and gas has fundamentally changed the energy sector. This development has resulted in billions of dollars for the state of Texas and thousands of jobs, but it’s also had an impact on the state’s communities and their land, air, water and infrastructure.

These impacts are detailed in a new report by the TAMEST Shale Task ForceEnvironmental and Community Impacts of Shale Development in Texas.

Learn more >


Report Finds Wide Range of Environmental and Community Impacts of Shale Development in Texas

A new, comprehensive report on the impacts of shale oil and gas development in Texas by a diverse set of experts finds a wide range of both benefits and consequences for the state’s environment and communities. The report, convened and sponsored by TAMEST, offers recommendations for future research, identifies opportunities for greater collaboration and proposes consideration of policies to help mitigate these impacts.

Learn more >

National Academies of Science

National Academy of Sciences Elects Three Texas Members

TAMEST would like to congratulate the following three Texas-based members who were recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences:

  • Ronald DeVore, Ph.D.: The Walter E. Koss Professor and Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Texas A&M University
  • Marcetta K. Darensbourgh, Ph.D.: Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University
  • Guillermina (Gigi) Lozano, Ph.D.: Professor and Chair, Department of Genetics, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Learn more >

2017 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report

2016 marked another inspiring year for TAMEST. We welcomed 21 new members at our annual conference on sustainability; 10 were elected to one of the National Academies in 2016, and 11 became members through their relocation to Texas. Along with welcoming new members, the TAMEST Shale Task Force continued to work on examining the environmental and community impacts of shale oil and gas development for a comprehensive report that will be released in summer 2017.

View the annual report >

Four Texans Elected to National Academy of Engineering

TAMEST welcomes four new members to our organization who were all recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering:

  • David Allen, Ph.D.: Melvin H. Gertz Regents Chair in Chemical Engineering; Professor, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Birol Dindoruk, Ph.D.: Principal technical expert of reservoir engineering, Shell Technology Center, Shell International E&P Inc., Houston
  • Selda Gunsel, Ph.D.: General manager, products and quality, Shell Global Lubricants Supply Chain, Royal Dutch Shell, Houston
  • Randall Poston, Ph.D., P.E., S.E.: Senior principal, Pivot Engineers, Austin

These Texas-based members of the National Academy of Engineering will be recognized as new TAMEST members at our annual conference in 2018.

View a full list of all TAMEST members >

2018 Annual Conference

Save the Date: 2018 Annual Conference

The dates for our 2018 Annual Conference are Wednesday–Friday, January 10–12, 2018, at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center in League City, Texas.

The theme of next year’s conference will be The Space Beyond: Aerospace Opportunities in Texas, and Bonnie J. Dunbar, Ph.D. (NAE), Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University, is serving as program chair.

Learn more >

Higher Education Panel

Texas Higher Ed Leaders Talk Future of Education: Conversation Explores How to Best Educate a Growing, Changing State

At the 2017 TAMEST Annual Conference, a panel of six leaders from higher education across the state gathered to discuss the strong forces of change affecting higher education in Texas and across the United States. Texas’ higher education system is in a unique position thanks to rapid population growth, changing demographics and a shifting focus in various industries.

Learn more >