December 22, 2016

Terrence Henry
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TAMEST Presents Distinguished Service Award to ExxonMobil

AUSTIN, TexasThe Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) is pleased to announce that Exxon Mobil Corporation will receive the Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award, in recognition of their steadfast support of TAMEST and research in Texas. XTO Energy President and Former President of the ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company Sara Ortwein will accept the award on behalf of the company during the opening reception of the TAMEST 2017 Annual Conference on Tuesday, January 10, 2017, in San Antonio, Texas.

“ExxonMobil’s support has been truly beneficial to our organization,” says TAMEST President David Russell, vice provost & dean of basic research at UT Southwestern Medical Center. “Under the leadership of Chairman and CEO Rex Tillerson, ExxonMobil has been an active and consistent partner to our organization by sponsoring TAMEST events and initiatives. XTO President Sara Ortwein has also been a constant champion of TAMEST and rising star researchers in Texas, and ExxonMobil has been a leader furthering STEM education in Texas and across the nation. We’re honored to recognize ExxonMobil for their contributions to TAMEST and the research community in Texas.”

The Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award was established in 2013 to recognize individuals and organizations that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in furthering TAMEST's mission. Senator Hutchison was the inaugural recipient in 2013, recognized for her role in founding TAMEST. Other recipients of the award include Peter O’Donnell, Jr., Dr. Larry Faulkner and Kenny Jastrow. This is the first TAMEST award recognizing an organization.

Members of the media are encouraged to attend the ceremony and the TAMEST 2017 Annual Conference.

TAMEST’s 2017 Annual Conference—Building a Sustainable Future for Texas—will be held January 10-12, 2017, at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas, and will examine how Texas can best plan for its future, with a focus on energy, health, water and transportation.

The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) was founded in 2004 to provide broader recognition of the state’s top achievers in medicine, engineering and science, and to further position Texas as a national research leader. TAMEST also aims to foster the next generation of scientists and to increase the awareness and communication among the state’s best and brightest about research priorities for the future.

TAMEST’s membership represents Texas’ best researchers from both industry and academia. TAMEST is composed of more than 280 Texas-based members of The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and the state’s nine Nobel Laureates.

# # #