To supplement the awards in Medicine, Engineering and Science that were established in 2006, TAMEST created the O’Donnell Award in Technology Innovation to recognize individuals or research teams from non-academic institutions that have made a major innovative technological discovery that has the potential for making a positive impact on society.

Each award includes a $25,000 honorarium and an invitation to present at TAMEST’s Annual Conference in January.

Nominees for the Technology Innovation Award come from a wide range of disciplines including:

  • Energy
  • Electronics
  • Biotechnology
  • Health and Medical
  • Chemistry
  • Oil and Gas
  • Information Technology

Eligible candidates must:

  • Nominees must be continually employed in the state of Texas for the past two years.
  • Nominees must be within 25 years from their first full-time industry affiliated position at the end of the year in which the nomination is made.
  • For team nominations, the team member who meets all eligibility requirements must have had substantial responsibility for the development of the technology being considered.
  • TAMEST Members are not eligible for the O'Donnell Awards.