2020 Annual Conference: Innovating Texas

Photos and videos are now available from the TAMEST 2020 Annual Conference: Innovating Texas, which explored how basic research leads to new technologies, products and companies and showcased avenues to commercialization for researchers across an array of disciplines. The program featured success stories from some of Texas’ greatest entrepreneurs and inventors and looked at astounding research and technology developments happening now that will impact our lives and economy in the future.

View photos from the conference on the TAMEST Flickr page >

Conference session videos are now available on our YouTube channel >

Select speaker slides can be found here >

View the agenda >

The conference kicked off with an opening reception on Tuesday, January 7 at 6:30 p.m. at the Perot Museum of Nature and Science.

See the Opening Reception Agenda >


Andrei Iancu

The Honorable Andrei Iancu

Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director
United States Patent and Trademark Office

Mamie Jones

Mamie Jones

Sr. Vice President of Product Development
Intuit ProConnect Group
Ross Perot Jr.

H. Ross Perot Jr.

The Perot Group
Peter Pisters

Peter WT Pisters, M.D.

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Kerry Rupp

Kerry Rupp

General Partner
True Wealth Ventures

Scott Sheffield

Scott D. Sheffield

President and CEO
Pioneer Natural Resources

Richard Templeton

Richard K. Templeton

Chairman, President and CEO
Texas Instruments

Huda Y. Zoghbi

Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. (NAM, NAS)

Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Innovating Texas Poster Challenge

A statewide poster challenge took place during the TAMEST 2020 Annual Conference at the Fairmont Dallas hotel. The Innovating Texas Poster Challenge was for those who are involved in an innovative project working to create a product or technology that is being pursued commercially and has potential for positive impact. Posters were available for viewing on January 8, and selected finalists presented their innovations to conference attendees on January 9 during the general session. TAMEST congratulates the winners of the 2020 Innovating Texas Poster Challenge:

Academia Category
Ashlee Brunaugh
Ph.D. Candidate – Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery
The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy

Industry Category
Michael A. Miller, Ph.D.
Institute Scientist, Materials Engineering Department
Southwest Research Institute

TAMEST 2020 Annual Conference Poster Challenge

Program Chair and Committee

Bob Metcalfe at TAMEST 2020 Annual Conference: Innovating Texas

Bob Metcalfe, Ph.D. (NAE)

Program Chair

Professor of Innovation, Cockrell School of Engineering

Murchison Fellow of Free Enterprise

The University of Texas at Austin

Program Committee Members

  • Claire Aldridge, Ph.D., Associate Vice President, Commercialization and Business Development, Office of Institutional Advancement, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • David E. Daniel, Ph.D. (NAE), President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • M. Cynthia Hipwell, Ph.D. (NAE), Texas A&M University
  • Larry Peterson, Texas Foundation for Innovative Communities
  • Ann Beal Salamone (NAE), Rochal Industries LLC
  • Honorary Chair: The Honorable Gordon R. England (NAE), TAMEST 2019 Past President




Lyda Hill Philanthropies Logo
Texas Instruments Logo
UT Southwestern Medical Center Logo
Texas A&M University Logo


Bell Logo
The University of Texas at Austin Logo
3M + KCI Logo
The University of Texas at Dallas Logo
Rice University Logo
The Welch Foundation Logo
Southwest Research Institute Logo
University of North Texas Logo


DLA Piper Logo
ParkerHighlander Logo
University of Houston Division of Research Logo
Winstead PC Logo
Leonardo DRS Logo
Texas Biomedical Research Institute Logo
The University of Texas at Arlington Logo
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Logo
Texas Tech Office of Research & Innovation Logo
UT Health San Antonio Logo
O'Donnell Foundation
The Morton H. Meyerson Family Foundation Logo
The University of Texas at San Antonio Logo


TreMonti Consulting LLC Logo


Austin Technology Incubator Logo
Capital Factory Logo
UT Austin Office of Technology Commercialization Logo

TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.