TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference Post Event Thank You

About the TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference: Forward Texas—Accelerating Change

The TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference, Forward Texas: Accelerating Change, was held May 23–25, 2023, at The InterContinental Houston – Medical Center in Houston, Texas.

A special opening reception took place the evening of Tuesday, May 23, 2023, in the Morian Hall of Paleontology at the Houston Museum of Natural Science.

The TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference gathered some of our most celebrated and innovative researchers to examine how science and technology are leading to fundamental changes in society. The cross-disciplinary program focused on four profound scientific transitions underway: CRISPR gene editing, “big” data science, renewable energy and decarbonization.

The TAMEST annual conference is open to the entire research community.

Download Presentation Slides from the TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference

Day 1:
Special Remarks from NAM President: Victor J. Dzau, M.D. (NAM), National Academy of Medicine

MEDICINE SESSIONS: Big Data and Emerging Technology

National Speaker: Geoffrey Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D., National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Texas Speaker: Andy Futreal, Ph.D., The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Mary Beth Maddox Award Ceremony and Recipient Presentation: Florencia McAllister, M.D., The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center


National Speaker: Peter F. Green, Ph.D. (NAE), National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Texas Speaker: Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Ph.D. (NAE), Rice University

2023 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards Presentations

Medicine: Jennifer Wargo, M.D., The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Engineering: Jamie Padgett, Ph.D., Rice University
Biological Sciences: James J. Collins III, Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center
Physical Sciences: Erez Lieberman Aiden, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine
Technology Innovation: Chengbo Li, Ph.D., ConocoPhillips

Day 2:


National Speaker: Charles A. Gersbach, Ph.D., Duke University
Texas Speaker: Daniel J. Siegwart, Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center
Science Panel: Moderator: Joshua T. Mendell, M.D., Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center; Panelists: Leonela Amoasii, Ph.D., Vertex Pharmaceuticals; Amy L. McGuire, J.D., Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine; David W. Taylor, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
TAMEST Protégé Poster Challenge Finalist Presentations
Finalist 1: Anna-Karin Gustavsson, Ph.D., Rice University (2nd Place)
Finalist 2: Maksim Mamonkin, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine (1st Place)
Finalist 3: Zhong Wang, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Dallas (3rd Place)


Texas Speaker: Russ Conser, Standard Soil, PBC
Technology Panel: Moderator: Keith Paustian, Ph.D., Colorado State University; Panelists: Eric D. Larson, Ph.D., Princeton University; Jocelyn Lavallee, Ph.D., Environmental Defense Fund; Arthur Lee, Chevron Services Company
Breakthrough Session: Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. (NAM, NAS), Baylor College of Medicine
Save the Date for the TAMEST 2024 Annual Conference: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, February 5–7, 2024, at the AT&T Hotel and Conference Center in Austin, Texas, as we celebrate 20 years of TAMEST.

Speakers and Panelists

Leonela Amoasii

Leonela Amoasii, Ph.D.


Research and Development

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

LTG Ross Coffman

Lieutenant General Ross Coffman

Deputy Commanding General

Army Futures Command

Victor Dzau

Victor J. Dzau, M.D. (NAM)


National Academy of Medicine

Andy Futreal

Andy Futreal, Ph.D.

Vice President of Strategic Translational Research Programs

Chair and Professor

Department of Genomic Medicine

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Charles Gersbach

Charles A. Gersbach, Ph.D.

John W. Strohbehn Distinguished Professor

Department of Biomedical Engineering

Duke University

Geoffrey Ginsburg

Geoffrey Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief Medical and Scientific Officer

All of Us Research Program

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Peter Green

Peter F. Green, Ph.D. (NAE)

Deputy Laboratory Director, Science and Technology

Chief Research Officer

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Amy McGuire

Amy L. McGuire, J.D., Ph.D.

Leon Jaworski Professor of Biomedical Ethics

Director, Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy

Baylor College of Medicine

Ramamoorthy Ramesh

Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Ph.D. (NAE)

Vice President for Research

Rice University

Daniel Siegwart

Daniel J. Siegwart, Ph.D.


Departments of Biochemistry and Biomedical Engineering

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dirk Smit

Dirk Smit, Ph.D.

Corporate Chief Scientist

Vice President of Research Strategy

Shell Global


Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. (NAM, NAS)

Distinguished Service Professor

Baylor College of Medicine

Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Program Committee

Lydia Kavraki

Honorary Chair: Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM)

President, TAMEST

Professor and Chair of Molecular and Human Genetics

Robert and Janice McNair Endowed Chair in Molecular and Human Genetics

Baylor College of Medicine

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Lydia Kavraki

Lydia E. Kavraki, Ph.D. (NAM)

Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science

Director, Ken Kennedy Institute

Rice University

Robert Gilbert


Robert B. Gilbert, Ph.D. (NAE)

Professor and Department Chair of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering

The University of Texas at Austin

Joshua Mendell


Joshua T. Mendell, M.D., Ph.D.

Charles Cameron Sprague, M.D. Chair in Medical Science

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Christian Davies

Technology Innovation

Christian A. Davies, Ph.D.

Principal Scientist

Nature Based Solutions

Shell Projects & Technology USA

TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference Sponsors

TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.