TAMEST 2022 Annual Conference

Join Us in San Antonio for the 2022 Annual Conference

The conference will take place June 20–22, 2022, at The Westin Riverwalk.

Member and Affiliate Registration: $150

General Registration: $500

TAMEST 2022 Annual Conference Rescheduled: June 20–22, 2022

Given the elevated risks of convening in-person during this time, TAMEST is rescheduling our 2022 Annual Conference to June 20–22, 2022, at the Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio. We know this is a disappointment, but we hope by moving the event to June we can best experience the stellar program in person together.

We intend to hold the same program in June with as many of the same sessions, speakers and panels as possible. All currently registered attendees will have their original registration applied to the rescheduled conference (both in person and virtual options will be available). If you’re unable to attend the rescheduled event in June in person or online, you may request a refund or choose to donate your registration fee to the TAMEST Annual Fund. Please contact TAMEST at (512) 471-3823 or tamest@austin.utexas.edu with any questions or to change your registration.

All hotel reservations booked at the Westin Riverwalk with the “TAMEST” rate for the January conference will be automatically canceled. Details on reserving rooms for the rescheduled conference in June will be released soon.

We’re disappointed we can’t proceed with the event in January as originally planned and for any inconvenience this may cause. We hope you’ll be able to join us in June in San Antonio as we explore how Texas can build the vibrant, healthy communities of tomorrow.

About the TAMEST 2022 Annual Conference: Forward Texas—Imperatives for Health

Our TAMEST 2022 Annual Conference, Forward Texas: Imperatives for Health, will explore how Texas can build the vibrant, healthy communities of tomorrow and address topics like health care, education, infrastructure and infectious disease. It will also be an important opportunity to examine the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, its long-term impacts on our communities and discuss the innovative solutions and interventions that happened as a result.

The TAMEST Annual Conference is open to all in the research community.

Updated agenda and hotel/travel information coming soon.

Speakers and Panelists

James Allison

Nobel Laureate James P. Allison, Ph.D. (NAM, NAS)

Regental Professor and Chair

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Craig Boyan

Craig Boyan



Sandro Galea

Sandro Galea, M.D., Dr.P.H. (NAM)


Boston University School of Public Health

Peter Hotez

Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM)

Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine

Baylor College of Medicine

Shara McClure

Shara McClure

DSVP Texas Health Care Delivery

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas

Ellen Ochoa

Ellen Ochoa, Ph.D. (NAE)

Chair, National Science Board

Director (retired), Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center

Sethuraman Panchanathan

Sethuraman Panchanathan, Ph.D.


National Science Foundation

Margaret Spellings

Margaret Spellings

President and CEO

Texas 2036

Program Chair and Committee

Nancy Dickey

Nancy W. Dickey, M.D. (NAM)

Program Chair

Texas A&M Health

Learn More >

Program Committee Members

  • Honorary Chair: Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr.P.H. (NAM), Past President, TAMEST; UT Health San Antonio
  • David E. Daniel, Ph.D. (NAE), President, TAMEST; President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Ellen R. Gritz, Ph.D. (NAM), Emerita Professor and Former Chair of the Department of Behavioral Science, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Adam L. Hamilton, President and CEO, Southwest Research Institute
  • Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), Professor and Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, UT Health San Antonio
  • A. Ray Pentecost, Dr.P.H., Ronald L. Skaggs and Joseph G. Sprague Chair of Health Facilities Design; Director, Center for Health Systems & Design, Texas A&M University
  • C. Michael Walton, Ph.D. (NAE), Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin
TAMEST 2022 Annual Conference Sponsors

Forward Texas Digital Series

When COVID-19 hit, TAMEST (The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas) knew it had an important role to play by doing what it does best — convening the research community to foster collaboration and share evidence-based scientific information. Throughout 2020, TAMEST focused on exploring and amplifying the science behind the novel coronavirus with its digital series, Forward Texas: TAMEST Conversations on COVID-19.


TAMEST The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas