January 16-17, 2014 | Hyatt Lost Pines Resort, Lost Pines, Texas

Program | Agenda | Videos | Speaker Bios | Sponsors | Media Coverage | Photos

TAMEST held its 11th annual conference on January 16-17, 2014. The conference program focused on advances in computational science, computer modeling, and computer simulation.

Keynote Speakers

Thomas LangeThomas J. Lange
Director, R&D, Modeling & Simulation
Procter & Gamble Company

Natalia TrayanovaNatalia Trayanova, Ph.D.
Murray B. Sachs Endowed Chair and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Joint appointment, Medicine
Institute for Computational Medicine
Johns Hopkins University

Henry MarkramHenry Markram, Ph.D.
Director, Blue Brain Project
Coordinator, Human Brain Project
Professor of Neuroscience
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Kay Bailey HutchisonKay Bailey Hutchison
Former United States Senator
TAMEST Honorary Chair

Opening Reception: Special Tribute Honoring Mr. Peter O’Donnell, Jr. and Welcoming 2013 New TAMEST Members

During the opening reception, TAMEST honored Peter O’Donnell, Jr., recipient of the Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award. The Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award was established in 2013 by TAMEST to recognize individuals and organizations who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in furthering TAMEST’s mission to secure the future of Texas as a leader in these fields. Named in honor of TAMEST’s Honorary Chair, Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison received the inaugural award for her vision and commitment to advancing scientific research, technology innovation, and educational achievement.

In 2013, TAMEST welcomed 18 new members and 1 returning member, bringing the total number of members to 263, the highest level of membership in the organization’s history. Of these new members, 12 were elected to one of the National Academies in 2013, and 6 became members through their relocation to Texas.