January 17-18, 2013, Westin Galleria, Dallas, Texas

Program | Agenda | Presentation Abstracts | Speaker Bios | Sponsors | Videos
Photo Gallery | Media Coverage

TAMEST celebrated its 10th annual conference on January 17-18, 2013. The conference program focused on the latest research developments in neuroscience and deepwater exploration. In addition, the conference featured the recipients of the 2013 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards, and a report on the 2012 Texas Water Summit.

Featured Speakers

Dr. Robert HaddadThe Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill NRDA: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Robert Haddad, Ph.D.
Chief, Assessment and Restoration Division
NOAA Office of Response & Restoration

Roger HineEnergy for Unmanned Systems
Roger Hine
Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer
Liquid Robotics, Inc.

Dr. Huda ZoghbiNeurobiology of Rett Syndrome and Related Neuropsychiatric Disorders
Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D.
Professor, Department of Human and Molecular Genetics and Neuroscience
Baylor College of Medicine
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children's Hospital

Tom LuceWhy Math and Science are Necessary for All Students in the 21st Century
Tom Luce
Chairman of the Board
National Math and Science Initiative

Opening Reception: Special Tribute Honoring Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and Welcoming 2012 New TAMEST Members

2013 Opening Reception Program CoverIn 2012, TAMEST welcomed 11 new members, bringing the total number of members to 253, the highest level of membership in the organization’s history. Seven of these new members were elected to one of the National Academies, and four became members through their relocation to Texas. One of TAMEST’s new members, Dr. Antonios Mikos, was elected to both the NAE and the IOM in 2012, and current members Dr. Ronald DePinho and Dr. John Goodenough were elected to a second National Academy, bringing the number of TAMEST members with this distinction to 24. Also in 2012, The University of Texas at Arlington became an institutional member of TAMEST.