Thursday, January 12, 2012
8:00 AM
8:30 - 9:00 AM TAMEST Membership Meeting
9:00 - 9:15 AM BREAK (Protégés and special guests are invited to join the meeting at this time.)
9:15 - 9:30 AM

Welcoming Remarks

9:30 - 10:55 AM

The Shale Gas Miracle: 
A Tribute to George P. Mitchell


     Featured Speakers: 
     Dan B. Steward
     Geologist | Republic Energy
     Mark D. Zoback, Ph.D.
     Benjamin M. Page Professor of Geophysics| Stanford University

11:00 - 12:10 PM

Panel 1: The Answer is Blowing in the Wind
Kishor C. Mehta, Ph.D. (NAE)
     P.W. Horn Professor of Civil Engineering | Texas Tech University
     Program Director | National Science Foundation

     Richard E. Williams
     President | Shell WindEnergy, Inc.
     Dan Woodfin
     Director of System Planning | Electric Reliability Council of Texas
     Luciano Castillo, Ph.D.
     Don-Kay-Clay Cash Distinguished Engineering Chair in Wind Energy and   
     Executive Director/President of the National Wind Resource Center | Texas   
     Tech University

12:25 - 1:45 PM

Opening Luncheon
Marvin E. Odum
     President | Shell Oil Company

2:00 - 3:00 PM

Panel 2: Energy, Medicine and Nanotechnology
     Moderator and Panelist:
     Michael B. Kastan, M.D., Ph.D.
     Executive Director | Duke Cancer Institute
     Professor, Pharmacology and Cancer Biology and Professor of Pediatrics |
     Duke University

     Mauro Ferrari, Ph.D.,
     President and CEO, Ernest Cockrell Jr. Distinguished Endowed Chair |
     The Methodist Hospital Research Institute
     Mitchell A. Lazar, M.D., Ph.D.  (IOM)
     Director of the Institute for Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism | University of
     Pennsylvania School of Medicine

3:15 - 5:30 PM Presentations by the Recipients of the 2012 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards
6:00 - 7:00 PM Networking and Reception
7:00 - 8:45 PM

O'Donnell Awards Dinner
     Special Address:
     The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison
     United States Senator

     Featured Speaker:
     Bruce A. Beutler, M.D. (Nobel Laureate, IOM, NAS)
     Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense | The University of Texas
     Southwestern Medical Center

8:45 - 10:00 PM After Dinner Reception
Friday, January 13, 2012
7:00 - 8:00 AM Buffet Breakfast
8:00 - 8:30 AM

The Obesity Epidemic
     William H. Dietz, M.D., Ph.D.
     Director, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity | National Center
     for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,
     Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

8:35 - 10:40 AM

Panel 3: Mechanisms and Prevention of Obesity and Obesity-Related Diseases
Lawrence C.B. Chan, M.D., D.Sc.
     Betty Rutherford Chair for Diabetes Research and Director of Diabetes &
     Endocrinology Research | Baylor College of Medicine

     Joel K. Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.
     Professor and Director of the Division of Hypothalamic Research |
     The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
     Jay D. Horton, M.D.
     Dr. Robert C. and Veronica Atkins Chair in Obesity and Diabetes Research |
     The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center  
     Dennis M. Bier, M.D. (IOM)
     Professor of Pediatrics and Director of the Children's Nutrition Research   
     Center | Baylor College of Medicine
     Deanna M. Hoelscher, Ph.D., R.D., L.D., C.N.S.
     Director of the Michael & Susan Dell Center for Health Living and John P.
     McGovern Professorship in Health Promotion | The University of Texas
     School of Public Health 
    John P. Foreyt, Ph.D.
     Director of the Behavioral Medicine Research Center | Baylor College of
     Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr.P.H., M.P.H. (IOM)
     Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Director of the Institute for
     Health Promotion Research | The University of Texas Health Science Center
     at San Antonio


10:40 - 10:55 AM

10:55 - 11:25 AM 2011 Texas Energy Summit Report
     Stephen A. Holditch, Ph.D. (NAE) 
     Director | Texas A&M Energy Engineering Institute | 2011 TAMEST President
11:25 - 12:00 PM The Scientific Importance and Competitive Advantage of
    Supercomputing to Texas

     John R. (Jay) Boisseau
     Director | Texas Advanced Computing Center | The University of Texas
     at Austin
12:00 - 12:30 PM Reasoning Mind: Rethinking the Future of Math Education 
     Alexander R. Khachatryan, Ph.D.
     President and CEO | Reasoning Mind, Inc.
12:30 - 2:00 PM Closing Luncheon
     Featured Speaker:
     Samuel C.C. Ting, Ph.D., (Nobel Laureate, NAS)
     Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of Physics | Massachusetts Institute
     of Technology

     Closing Remarks:
     William R. Brinkley, Ph.D., (IOM)
     Emeritus Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; Distinguished
     Service Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology | Baylor
     College of Medicine | 2012 TAMEST President