2014 Annual Conference Program

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Phasellus blandit imperdiet erat, bibendum aliquam neque aliquam at. Integer tristique, lectus ac fermentum faucibus, lorem eros rhoncus sem, non ultricies lorem urna nec metus. Pellentesque at nisi neque. Etiam sem orci, vulputate eget sapien quis, scelerisque posuere dolor. Etiam eget consectetur justo. Praesent auctor arcu non sapien malesuada, quis suscipit lectus hendrerit. Mauris sit amet elit ultricies, malesuada enim et, ornare orci.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Welcome and Remarks

The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison

TAMEST Honorary Chair

The Honorable Joe Straus

Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives

Program Introduction

J. Tinsley Oden, Ph.D. (NAE)

2014 Conference Program Chair
Associate Vice President for Research; Director, Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES)
The University of Texas at Austin

Keynote Address: The Curious Case of Making Clean: the Modeling & Simulation behind Improving Everyday Life

Thomas J. Lange

Director, R&D, Modeling & Simulation
Procter & Gamble Company

Monitored Destruction of the Mouse Genome by Random Germ Line Mutagenesis

Bruce A. Beutler, M.D. (Nobel Laureate, IOM, NAS)

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Keynote Address: Modeling Cardiac Function and Dysfunction

Natalia Trayanova, Ph.D.

Murray B. Sachs Endowed Chair, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Joint Appointment, Medicine, Institute for Computational Medicine
Johns Hopkins University

From Protein Folding to Molecular Machines in Biology

José N. Onuchic, Ph.D. (NAS)

Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Chemistry, and Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Co-director, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics
Rice University

The Growing Scientific Importance and Competitive Advantage of Supercomputing to Science, Engineering, Medicine—and Texas

Dan Stanzione, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Texas Advanced Computing Center
The University of Texas at Austin

Special Address: A New Social Compact for Science

Harvey V. Fineberg, M.D., Ph.D. (IOM)

Institute of Medicine

Presentations by the Recipients of the 2014 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards

Alan Needleman, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
University of North Texas


Richard K. Bruick, Ph.D.

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


Thomas M. Truskett, Ph.D.

The University of Texas at Austin


Zhifeng Ren, Ph.D.

University of Houston


James Walker, Ph.D.

Southwest Research Institute

Dinner Honoring the Recipients of the 2014 Edith & Peter O’Donnell Awards

2014 Awards Tribute Video

2014 O’Donnell Awards Dinner

Friday, January 17, 2014

Studying the Impacts and Mitigation of Hurricane Storm Surges and Oil Spills

Clint N. Dawson, Ph.D.

Professor and Edward S. Hyman Endowed Chair in Engineering
Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
Leader of the ICES Computational Hydraulics Group
The University of Texas at Austin

Visualizing Viruses Inside and Outside the Cells

Wah Chiu, Ph.D. (NAS)

Alvin Romansky Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Director, National Center for Macromolecular Imaging
Baylor College of Medicine

Digital Discovery and Design: toward the New Age of Materials on Demand

Sharon C. Glotzer, Ph.D.

Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering
Professor of Material Science & Engineering, Macromolecular Science and Engineering, and Physics
University of Michigan

Closing luncheon: Legislative Panel on Higher Education

Moderator: Larry R. Faulkner, Ph.D.

President Emeritus
The University of Texas at Austin


The Honorable Robert Duncan

Texas State Senator

The Honorable Donna Howard

Texas State Representative

The Honorable Diane Patrick

Texas State Representative

The Honorable Judith Zaffrini

Texas State Senator


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.