TAMEST 2024 Annual Conference Agenda
The TAMEST 2024 Annual Conference: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, will take place February 5–7, 2024, at the AT&T Hotel and Conference Center in Austin. Learn more about our conference sessions and speakers by viewing the agenda below.

Opening Reception | Monday, February 5, 2024 | 6:30 p.m.–10:00 p.m.

AT&T Hotel and Conference Center, 1900 University Ave, Austin, Texas

The opening reception will take place the evening of Monday, February 5, 2024, in the Grand Ballroom at the AT&T Hotel and Conference Center.

Programming begins at 7:00 p.m.

  • Welcome from TAMEST Board President Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), Baylor College of Medicine
  • Presentation of the Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award
  • Hill Prizes Ceremony
  • 20th Anniversary of TAMEST
  • TAMEST welcomes new members

2024 Annual Conference Programming Agenda | Tuesday, February 6 & Wednesday, February 7

AT&T Hotel and Conference Center, 1900 University Ave, Austin, Texas

(subject to change)

Tuesday, February 6

8:00–9:15 a.m.
Conference Breakfast and Protégé Breakfast

9:15–9:20 a.m.
Opening Remarks

Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), TAMEST Board President


9:20–9:50 a.m.
National Speaker: Engineering

Colonel Tucker Hamilton, Chief of AI Test and Operations, United States Air Force

9:50–10:20 a.m.
Texas Speaker: Engineering

10:20–10:50 a.m.
Speaker: Engineering

10:50–11:15 a.m.
O’Donnell Presentation: Engineering

11:15–11:30 a.m.

11:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Mary Beth Maddox Award Ceremony and Research Presentation

12:00–1:00 p.m.
Lunch and Anniversary Session: Celebrating 20 Years of TAMEST

Moderator: Larry R. Faulkner, Ph.D., President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin


  • Nobel Laureate Michael S. Brown, M.D. (NAM, NAS), The W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Distinguished Chair in Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis Research, Regental Professor, Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison, TAMEST Honorary Chair; Former United States Senator; Former United States Permanent Representative to NATO
  • William T. Solomon, Chairman, President and CEO, O’Donnell Foundation


1:00–1:30 p.m.
National Speaker: Science

Petros Koumoutsakos, Ph.D. (NAE), Herbert S. Winokur, Jr. Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Area Chair for Applied Mathematics, Harvard University

1:30–2:00 p.m.
Texas Speaker: Science

2:00–2:30 p.m.
Speaker: Science

Surya Ganguli, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Applied Physics, Associate Professor (by courtesy), Neurobiology and Electrical Engineering, Stanford University

2:30–2:45 p.m.

2:45–3:10 p.m.
O’Donnell Research Presentation: Biological Sciences

3:10–3:35 p.m.
O’Donnell Research Presentation: Physical Sciences

3:35–4:00 p.m.

4:00–5:00 p.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge: Judges Viewing

5:00–6:30 p.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge Viewing and Cocktail Reception

6:30–10:00 p.m.
Dinner: O’Donnell Awards Ceremony and Reception

Wednesday, February 7

7:30–9:00 a.m.
Conference Breakfast

7:30–8:30 a.m.
Protégé Finalist Breakfast


8:30–9:00 a.m.
Breakfast Session with National Speaker: Technology

Chris Urmson, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Aurora

9:00–9:30 a.m.
Texas Speaker: Technology

Robin Murphy, Ph.D., Raytheon Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering, Texas A&M University

9:30–10:00 a.m.
Speaker: Technology

Douglas Brooks, Ph.D., Assistant Director, R&D, Artificial Intelligence Department, Southwest Research Institute

10:00–10:25 a.m.
O’Donnell Presentation: Technology Innovation

10:25–10:45 a.m.

10:45–11:15 a.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge Finalist Presentations


11:15–11:45 a.m.
National Speaker: Medicine

11:45 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Texas Speaker: Medicine

David Paydarfar, M.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology at Dell Medical School, Director, Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences, The University of Texas at Austin

12:15–1:15 p.m.
Lunch Panel: Ethics and Policy of AI

1:15–1:45 p.m.
Speaker: Medicine

David Glazer, Engineering Director and Terra CTO, Verily

1:45–2:10 p.m.
O’Donnell Research Presentation: Medicine

2:10–2:15 p.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge Contest Winners Announced

2:15–2:20 p.m.
Closing Remarks and 2025 Conference Preview

Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), TAMEST Board President


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.