TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference Agenda

The TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference, Forward Texas: Accelerating Change, will take place May 23–25, 2023, at The InterContinental Houston – Medical Center in Houston. Learn more about our TAMEST 2023 Annual Conference sessions and speakers by viewing the agenda below.

Opening Reception | Tuesday May 23, 2023 | 6:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.

The opening reception will take place the evening of Tuesday, May 23, 2023, in the Morian Hall of Paleontology at the Houston Museum of Natural Science (5555 Hermann Park Dr, Houston, TX 77030).

Programming begins at 7:00 p.m.

2023 Annual Conference Programming Agenda | Wednesday, May 24 & Thursday, May 25

The InterContinental Houston – Medical Center, 6750 Main St, Houston, TX 77030

(subject to change)

Wednesday, May 24

Conference Programming (Intercontinental Medical Center Houston)

7:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.
Conference Breakfast and Protégé Breakfast

8:55 a.m. – 9:00 am.
Opening Remarks
Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), TAMEST Board President

MEDICINE SESSIONS: Big Data and Emerging Technology in Medicine

9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Geoffrey Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, All of Us Research Program, National Institutes of Health (NIH)

9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Andy Futreal, Ph.D., Department Chair and Professor, Department of Genomic Medicine, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Session: TBD

10:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.

10:45 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Session: Mary Beth Maddox Award Ceremony and Recipient Presentation


11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Lunch and Session
Speaker coming soon

12:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Ph.D. (NAE), Vice President for Research, Rice University

1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.
Engineering Panel
Moderator: Bobby Tudor, Chair, Houston Energy Transition Initiative

Panelists coming soon

1:45 p.m. – 2 p.m.

2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award Recipient Research Presentations

4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Break and Protégé Poster Challenge Viewing

5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.
Sponsor Reception (by Invitation)

6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Dinner: Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards Ceremony and Reception

Thursday, May 25

Conference Programming (Intercontinental Medical Center Houston)

7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.
Conference Breakfast

SCIENCE SESSIONS: CRISPR and Commercialization

8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.
Breakfast Session

Charles A. Gersbach, Ph.D., John W. Strohbehn Distinguished Professor, Departments of Biomedical Engineering & Surgery, Duke University

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.
Daniel J. Siegwart, Ph.D., W. Ray Wallace Distinguished Chair in Molecular Oncology Research, UT Southwestern Medical Center

9:00 a.m. – 9:45 a.m.
Science Panel: Commercializing CRISPR
Moderator: Joshua T. Mendell, M.D., Ph.D., Charles Cameron Sprague, M.D. Chair in Medical Science, UT Southwestern Medical Center; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute


  • Leonela Amoasii, Ph.D., Director of Research Gene Editing, Vertex
  • Amy Lynn McGuire, J.D., Ph.D., Leon Jaworski Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Director, Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Baylor College of Medicine
  • David Taylor Jr, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Molecular Biosciences, The University of Texas at Austin

9:45 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge Finalist Presentations


10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Dirk Smit, Ph.D., Chief Scientist Geophysics, Shell Global

11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Russ Conser, Chief Executive Officer, Standard Soil

11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Technology Panel: Accelerating decarbonization
Moderator: Keith Paustian, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences, and Senior Research Scientist, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University

Panelists coming soon

12:15 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Lunch and Breakthrough Session
Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. (NAM, NAS), Distinguished Service Professor, Baylor College of Medicine; Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

1:15 p.m. – 1:25 p.m.
Protégé Poster Challenge Contest Winners Announced

1:25 p.m. –1:30 p.m.
Closing Remarks and 2024 Conference Preview
Brendan Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), TAMEST Board President

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.