2018 Annual Conference: Aerospace – Program Speakers

TAMEST is pleased to have such a diverse group of program speakers at this year’s annual conference. The program speaker lineup includes expertise from academia and industry, and sessions will cover a wide range of topics relating to human space flight, aeronautics and commercial space exploration.


David Alexander

David Alexander, Ph.D.

Director, Rice Space Institute; Professor
Rice University
Scott Bolton

Scott Bolton, Ph.D.

Southwest Research Institute

Rodney Bowersox

Rodney Dale Welch Bowersox, Ph.D.

Department Head and Ford I Professor of Aerospace Engineering
Texas A&M University

Orlando Carvalho

Orlando P. Carvalho

Executive Vice President, Aeronautics
Lockheed Martin

Franklin Chang Diaz

Franklin Chang Díaz, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer

Ad Astra Rocket Company

Jerry Hendrix

Jerry Hendrix

Executive Director, Lone Star UAS Center of Excellence & Innovation
Texas A&M University-Corpus Cristi

Walter Cunningham

Colonel Walter Cunningham

United States Marine Corps, Retired

David Daniel

David Daniel, Ph.D. (NAE)

Deputy Chancellor

The University of Texas System

Chris Ferguson

Christopher Ferguson

Deputy Program Manager of Operations
Boeing Commercial Crew Program

Adam Hamilton

Adam L. Hamilton, P.E.

President and CEO
Southwest Research Institute

Janine K. Iannarelli

Janine K. Iannarelli

Founder and President
Par Avion Ltd.

Gregory Johnson

Gregory H. Johnson

President and Executive Director

Center for the Advancement of Science in Space (CASIS)

Susan Lederer

Susan M. Lederer, Ph.D.

Planetary and Space Scientist

NASA Johnson Space Center

David Leebron

David Leebron, J.D.


Rice University

Ben Levine

Benjamin D. Levine, M.D.

Professor of Internal Medicine and Cardiology
UT Southwestern Medical


Robert Lightfoot

Robert M. Lightfoot Jr.

Administrator (Acting)


Glenn Liston

Glenn W. Liston

Chief, High Speed Propulsion Branch
Air Force Research Laboratory

Ellen Ochoa

Ellen Ochoa, Ph.D.

Center Director
NASA Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center

Louise Prockter

Louise Prockter, Ph.D.


Lunar and Planetary Institute, USRA

Elizabeth Rampe

Elizabeth Rampe, Ph.D.

Exploration Mission Scientist
NASA Johnson Space Center

Ron Ricks

Ron Ricks

Vice Chairman, Board of Directors

Southwest Airlines Co.

Julie Robinson

Julie Robinson, Ph.D.

Chief Scientist

International Space Station, NASA

Kate Rubins

Kate Rubins, Ph.D.

NASA Johnson Space Center

Paul Schenk

Paul Schenk, Ph.D.

Senior Staff Scientist
Lunar and Planetary Institute

John Sharp

John Sharp


Texas A&M University

Kirk Shireman

Kirk Alden Shireman

International Space Station Program Manager


Gywnne Shotwell

Gywnne Shotwell

President and COO

Jayant Sirohi

Jayant Sirohi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
The University of Texas at Austin


Luciano Smith

Luciano Smith

Principal Engineer, Aerospace Structures

Southwest Research Institute

Paul Spudis

Paul D. Spudis, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist
Lunar and Planetary Institute

Michael Suffredini

Michael T. Suffredini

President, CEO and Co-founder

Axiom Space, LLC

Jeff Sutton

Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.


Center for Space Medicine

Baylor College of Medicine
Michael Thacker

Michael Thacker

Executive Vice President, Technology and Innovation

Bell Helicopter

Professor Sam Ting

Sam Ting, Ph.D

1976 Nobel Laureate, Physics


Michael Suffredini

Jack Hunter Waite Jr., Ph.D.

Program Director for Mass Spectrometry, Division of Space Science and Engineering

Southwest Research Institute


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.