2017 Annual Conference: Building a Sustainable Future for Texas

2017 Annual Conference - Sustainable Future for Texas
Hundreds of Texas’ top minds gathered at the TAMEST 2017 Annual Conference to explore solutions for the state’s growing population, dynamic economy and changing climate.

Building a Sustainable Future for Texas examined key issues like energy, health, water and transportation and the challenges we face ensuring an equitable, efficient supply of them in the coming century.

Watch the opening keynote by National Academy of Sciences President Marcia McNutt, Ph.D.
Special programming this year also included a robust conversation on the future of higher education in Texas, featuring chancellors and presidents of major Texas universities.


Building a Sustainable Future for Texas examined key issues like energy, health, water and transportation and the challenges we face ensuring an equitable, efficient supply of them in the coming century. Keynote speakers included Mr. John Hofmeister, founder and chief executive of Citizens for Affordable Energy and former president of Shell Oil Company, and Dr. Stephen Klineberg, professor and founding director of the Kinder Institute for Urban Research at Rice University.

Watch video of speakers and panels from the conference >

Printed Program and Agenda

From presentations on sustainable water, transportation, education and health to discussions about energy trends and innovation, the program for the 2017 Annual Conference included a wide range of experts and researchers from industry, academia and corporations. Attendees explored topics around what the future of Texas will be like in the coming century as well as how that state can be smarter, cleaner and more innovative.

During a special awards dinner, three rising Texas-based researchers were presented with an Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award for their work in the fields of medicine, engineering and science.

Download the program PDF >

Keynote Speakers

Marcia McNutt

Marcia McNutt, Ph.D


National Academy of Sciences

John Hofmeister

John Hofmeister

Founder and Chief Executive

Citizens for Affordable Energy

Former President

Shell Oil Company

Stephen Klineberg

Stephen Klineberg, Ph.D.

Professor and Founding Director, Kinder Institute for Urban Research

Rice University

William Colton

William Colton

Vice President, Corporate Strategic Planning

Exxon Mobil Corporation

Program Committee

Program Chair

Stephen A Holditch

Stephen A Holditch, Ph.D. (NAE)

Professor, Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering

Texas A&M University

Committee Members

Francisco Cigarroa

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D. (NAM)

Ashbel Smith Professor and Director of Pediatric Transplantation Surgery

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Christine Ehlig-Economides

Christine A. Ehlig-Economides, Ph.D. (NAE)

Professor, Chemical Engineering

University of Houston

William Kline

William Kline, Ph.D.

ExxonMobil (retired)

Danny Reible

Danny D. Reible, Ph.D. (NAE)

Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair

Texas Tech University


Diamond Sponsors

Exxon Mobil
Texas A&M University
Welch Foundation

Gold Sponsors

Bell Helicopter
Lockheed Martin
TAMU System
UT Austin
UT Dallas
UT System
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Southwestern Medical Foundation

Silver Sponsors

Southwest Research Institute
St. David's HealthCare
Texas Instruments
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
UT Health Science Center
MD Anderson Cancer Center
University of Houston
UTMB Health

Opening Reception Sponsor

Bank of America

TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.