Shale Task Force Presentations

Cesar Quiroga, Texas A&M Transportation Institute

In order to engage experts throughout the state, on October 5, 2016, TAMEST convened an open meeting of the shale task force to hear input and testimony from invited expert speakers, including representatives from the Texas Water Development Board, Texas General Land Office and Railroad Commission of Texas, as well as academic and industry experts.

These insights will help inform the consensus report to be released in mid-2017. The meeting was open to the public, and audio, photos and slide presentations are available below:

Opening Session

Opening Remarks

Christine Economides, NAE (Task Force Chair)

Professor, Petroleum Engineering
University of Houston
View Christine Economides’ presentation >
Read more about Christine Economides >

Christine Economides Introduces the TAMEST Shale Task Force

Sponsor Perspectives

Marilu Hastings

Vice President, Sustainability Program
The Cynthia & George Mitchell Foundation
Read more about Marilu Hastings >

Marilu Hastings on Sponsoring the TAMEST Shale Task Force

Expert Presentations

Geology and Seismicity

Peter Hennings

Research Scientist, Bureau of Economic Geology
The University of Texas at Austin
View Peter Hennings’ presentation >
Read more about Peter Hennings >

Land Resources

Forrest Smith

Dan L. Duncan Endowed Director of South Texas Natives and Texas Native Seeds Projects
Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute
Texas A&M University—Kingsville
View Forrest Smith’s presentation >

Land Resources: Forrest Smith speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force


Cal Cooper

Director of Special Projects and Emerging Technology
Apache Corporation
View Cal Cooper’s presentation >
Read more about Apache Corporation >

Water: Cal Cooper Speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force


David Parrish

Senior Research Scientist
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES)
University of Colorado
View David Parrish’s presentation >
Read more about CIRES >

Air: David Parrish Speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force


Cesar Quiroga

Senior Research Engineer
Texas A&M Transportation Institute
View Cesar Quiroga’s presentation >
Read more about Cesar Quiroga >

TAMEST Shale Task Force: Cesar Quiroga on Transportation

Social and Economics

Thomas Tunstall

Senior Research Director
Institute for Economic Development
The University of Texas at San Antonio
View Thomas Tunstall’s presentation >
Read more about Thomas Tunstall >

Social and Economic Impacts: Thomas Tunstall at TAMEST Shale Task Force

Texas State Agencies

Texas Water Development Board

Kathleen Jackson

Board Member
Texas Water Development Board
View Kathleen Jackson’s presentation >
Read more about Kathleen Jackson >

Kathleen Jackson of TWDB Speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force

Railroad Commission of Texas

Lori Wrotenbery

Director, Oil and Gas Division
Railroad Commission of Texas
View Lori Wrotenbery’s presentation >
Read more about the Railroad Commission of Texas >

Lori Wrotenbery of RRC Speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force

Texas General Land Office

Robert Hatter

Deputy Director, Energy Resources
Texas General Land Office
View Robert Hatter’s presentation >
Read more about the Texas General Land Office >

Robert Hatter of Texas General Land Office

Oil and Gas Trade Association

Texas Oil & Gas Association

Todd Staples of Texas Oil and Gas Association (TXOGA)

Environmental NGO

Environmental Defense Fund

Nichole Saunders

Attorney, U.S. Climate and Energy Program
Environmental Defense Fund
View Nichole Saunders’ presentation >
Read more about Nichole Saunders >

Nichole Saunders of Environmental Defense Fund Speaks to TAMEST Shale Task Force

Panel Discussion: Community Perspectives

A panel of community representatives offered their perspectives on the impacts of shale oil and gas development at the October 5, 2016, open meeting of the TAMEST Shale Task Force:

Panel Moderator: Gene Theodori (Task Force Lead)
Professor, Department of Sociology
Sam Houston State University
Read more about Gene Theodori >

Panelist: Judge Roger Harmon
Johnson County, Cleburne
Read more about Judge Harmon >

Panelist: Cristi LaJeunesse
Executive Director
Kenedy Housing Authority
Read more about the Kennedy Housing Authority >

Panelist: Jeanette Winn Moczygemba
Karnes City Independent School District

Panelist: Judge Mike Bradford
Midland County, Midland


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.