Winners of the Innovating Texas Poster Challenge accept their award from two members of the 2020 TAMEST Conference Program Committee. (Left to right) Ann Beal Salamone (NAE), Michael A. Miller, Ph.D., Ashlee Brunaugh, M. Cynthia Hipwell, Ph.D. (NAE)

During this time of global pandemic, TAMEST is thankful to the greater research community for their work confronting the COVID-19 virus and communicating evidence-based scientific information to the public. As our members and institutions mobilize to stop the spread of COVID-19 and work to discover effective treatments and vaccines, we are honored to support their service on the front lines fighting this infectious disease. This important work will help save lives and protect our way of life during this and future threats.

TAMEST Board President Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr. PH, UT Health San Antonio (National Academy of Medicine)

TAMEST Board Vice President David E. Daniel, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Dallas (National Academy of Engineering)



TAMEST was co-founded in 2004 by the Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison and Nobel Laureates Michael S. Brown, M.D. and Richard E. Smalley, Ph.D. With more than 300 members and 18 member institutions, TAMEST is composed of the Texas-based members of the three National Academies (National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Engineering, and National Academy of Sciences), the Royal Society and the state’s 11 Nobel Laureates. We bring together the state’s brightest minds in medicine, engineering, science and technology to foster collaboration, and to advance research, innovation and business in Texas.

TAMEST’s unique interdisciplinary model has become an effective recruitment tool for top research and development centers across Texas. Since our founding, more than 224 TAMEST members have been inducted into the National Academies or relocated to Texas.


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.