TAMEST Member News Roundup- November & December 2021

TAMEST loves to share the accolades of our membership. If you have been nominated for an award, been interviewed by the media or otherwise have a reason to celebrate, please share your news with TAMEST.

TAMEST In The News

TAMU Today: Texas A&M John L. Junkins to Receive Kay Bailey Hutchison Distinguished Service Award, TAMEST Member John L. Junkins, Ph.D. (NAE), Texas A&M University

TAMU Today: Two Texas A&M Faculty Receive Prestigious TAMEST Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards, 2022 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Recipients Jodie L. Lutkenhaus, Ph.D. and Sarbajit Banerjee, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Houston Public Media: Texas May Soon See a ‘Twin Epidemic’ During the Upcoming Winter Season, TAMEST Member Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), Baylor College of Medicine

CNBC: AMD Shares Close Up 10% After Company Wins Meta Partnership, Announces New Chips, TAMEST Member Lisa Su, Ph.D. (NAE), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Member Briefs

In Remembrance Peter O'Donnell

Rice University Names TAMEST Member Dr. Reginald DesRoches as Next President

TAMEST Member Reginald DesRoches, Ph.D. (NAE), Rice University, who is now serving as the university’s provost, has been named as the next president of Rice, succeeding President David Leebron. He will be the first black and first immigrant president of a private university in Houston. Read More

Ralph DeBerardinis Receives 2021 Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research

Congratulations to TAMEST Member Ralph DeBerardinis, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM), UT Southwestern Medical Center, on being one of three researchers awarded the 2021 Memorial Sloan Kettering Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research. The award recognizes outstanding early and mid-career investigators who have made significant contributions to increase the understanding of cancer or improve the treatment of the disease. Read More

Endowed Chair Established for Texas A&M President M. Katherine Banks

The Texas A&M University Engineering Advisory Council (EAC) has established the Dr. M. Katherine Banks Endowed Chair in Engineering in honor of the former vice chancellor, dean of the College of Engineering and TAMEST Member President M. Katherine Banks, Ph.D. (NAE), Texas A&M University. The council members wanted to honor Dr. Banks for her impact on the College of Engineering during her time as vice chancellor and dean. Distributions from the endowment will be used to support the teaching, research, service and professional development activities of the holder. Read More

Texas Professors Among Historic Greek Heroes

Congratulations to TAMEST Members Antonios G. Mikos, Ph.D. (NAE, NAM), Rice University, K.C. Nicolaou, Ph.D. (NAS, FRS), Rice University, Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D. (NAE, NAM), The University of Texas at Austin, and more, on being honored for their scientific achievements as part of Greece’s bicentennial. They were among 63 Greek physicians and biomedical researchers chosen for their originality, leadership in international scientific activities and global impact on medicine and research.

Dr. Francisco Cigarroa Receives LLILAS Benson Long Award

LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections at The University of Texas at Austin, along with benefactors Joe R. and the late Dr. Teresa Lozano Long, announced that TAMEST Member Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D. (NAM), UT Health San Antonio, is the inaugural recipient of the Joe R. & Dr. Teresa Lozano Long Medal of Excellence Award. The award recognizes individuals or organizations that set a high standard of excellence through their work and have established a legacy of extraordinary and impactful contributions to society. Read More

Several TAMEST Members Elected as Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Congratulations to all TAMEST Members elected to the 2021 class of Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors. Election to NAI Fellow is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors. To date, NAI Fellows hold more than 48,000 issued U.S. patents, which have generated over 13,000 licensed technologies and companies, and created more than one million jobs. The 2021 new Fellows will be inducted at the Fellows Induction Ceremony at the 11th Annual Meeting of the National Academy of Inventors this upcoming June in Phoenix, Arizona. Read More


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.