National Academy of Sciences Elects Four Texans

May 2015

National Academies of Science

The National Academy of Sciences recently announced the election of new members and foreign associates. Four Texans were among those elected:

  • Lora V. Hooper, Ph.D., Jonathan W. Uhr, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Immunology, Nancy Cain and Jeffrey A. Marcus Scholar in Medical Research, in Honor of Dr. Bill S. Vowell, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Steven A. Kliewer, Ph.D., Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Basic Cancer Research, Professor, Departments of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Rebecca Richards-Kortum, Ph.D., Stanley C. Moore Professor of Bioengineering, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rice University
  • Moshe Y. Vardi, Ph.D., Karen Ostrum George Distinguished Service Professor in Computational Engineering, Director, Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Rice University

Drs. Richards-Kortum and Vardi are also members of the National Academy of Engineering.

View a full list of TAMEST members >


TAMEST News and Updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Share This