TAMEST * 2019 Annual Conference NEUROSCIENCE & BRAIN HEALTH

JANUARY 14-16, 2019 • HORSESHOE BAY RESORT • HORSESHOE BAY, TEXAS

AGENDA SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Monday, January 14, 2019

6:00-8:00 p.m. **Opening Reception (Granite Ballroom)**

TAMEST welcomes new members. Remembrance

and celebration of Mary Beth Maddox.

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

7:30-8:30 a.m. Main Conference Breakfast (Travertine Room)

Protégé Breakfast (Granite Ballroom)

8:30-8:45 a.m. **Opening Remarks (Granite Ballroom)**

The Honorable Gordon R. England (NAE),

TAMEST President

Joseph S. Takahashi, Ph.D. (NAM, NAS),

Conference Program Chair

8:45-9:15 a.m. **Featured Speaker:**

> Victor J. Dzau, M.D. (NAM), National Academy of Medicine

9:15-10:45 a.m. The BRAIN Initiative

MODERATOR:

Joseph S. Takahashi, Ph.D. (NAM, NAS), **UT Southwestern Medical Center**

SPEAKERS:

• Ed Lein, Ph.D., Allen Institute for Brain Science

Loren M. Frank, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute/University of California, San Francisco

Mark Schnitzer, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute/Stanford University

Andreas Tolias, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine

10:45-11:00 a.m. **Break**

11:00 a.m.-12:10 p.m. Brain Development and Evolution

MODERATOR:

Farida Sohrabji, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Jenny Hsieh, Ph.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio

Genevieve Konopka, Ph.D., UT Southwestern **Medical Center**

Roy V. Sillitoe, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine

12:10-1:15 p.m.

Featured Speaker:

Christopher A. Walsh, M.D., Ph.D. (NAM, NAS),

Harvard Medical School

1:15-1:30 p.m. **Break** 1:30-2:00 p.m. **Featured Speaker:**

> The Honorable Admiral Brett P. Giroir, M.D., U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

2:00-2:45 p.m. **PANEL: The Science of Addiction and**

> the Opioid Crisis **MODERATOR:**

Nancy W. Dickey, M.D. (NAM), Texas A&M

University Health Science Center

PANELISTS:

Carrie L. Byington, M.D. (NAM), The Texas

A&M University System

Theodore John Price, Ph.D., The University of

Texas at Dallas

Umair A. Shah, M.D., M.P.H., Harris County

Public Health

2:45-3:00 p.m. **Break**

3:00-4:10 p.m. **Neurodegeneration and Alzheimer's**

(1st Session) **MODERATOR:**

Michael D. Rugg, Ph.D., The University of Texas at

Dallas SPEAKERS:

Clifford R. Jack Jr., M.D. (NAM), Mayo Clinic

Sudha Seshadri, M.D., UT Health San Antonio

Marc Diamond, M.D., UT Southwestern

Medical Center

4:10-5:40 p.m. 2019 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards

Presentations

Introduced by Kenneth E. Arnold, P.E. (NAE)

Medicine:

Ralph DeBerardinis, M.D., Ph.D., Children's

Medical Center Research Institute at UT

Southwestern

Enaineerina:

Hal S. Alper, Ph.D., The University of Texas at

Science:

Julie Pfeiffer, Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical

Center

Technology Innovation:

Terrence F. Alger II, Ph.D., Southwest Research

Institute

5:40-7:00 p.m. **Break**

7:00-9:00 p.m. 2019 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards

Ceremony and Dinner

SPONSORS

DIAMOND



PI ATTNIIM





