(as of October 14, 2013)

PDF version of agenda

Thursday, January 16, 2014

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM


(Barons Foyer)
8:30 AM

TAMEST Membership Meeting

(For TAMEST Members and Affiliate Members)
(Barons Ballroom - ABCD)
9:00 AM


(Protégés and special guests are invited to join the meeting at this time)


(Barons Ballroom - ABCD)
9:15 AM

Welcome and Remarks

The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison, Honorary TAMEST Chair

The Honorable Joe Straus, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives

Program Introduction

J. Tinsley Oden, Ph.D. (NAE), 2014 Conference Program Chair

Associate Vice President for Research and Director of the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, The University of Texas at Austin

10:00 AM

Keynote Address:
The Curious Case of Making Clean: the Modeling & Simulation behind Improving Everyday Life

Thomas J. Lange

Director, R&D, Modeling & Simulation, Procter & Gamble Company

10:45 AM


11:00 AM

Monitored Destruction of the Mouse Genome by Random Germ Line Mutagenesis

Bruce A. Beutler, M.D. (Nobel Laureate, IOM, NAS)

Director, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

11:30 AM

Integrating Big Data and Big Models via Bayesian Inference

Omar Ghattas, Ph.D.

John A. and Katherine G. Jackson Endowed Chair in Computational Geosciences; Professor of Geological Sciences and Mechanical Engineering; Director, Center for Computational Geosciences, Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES), The University of Texas at Austin

12:00 - 1:30 PM

Networking Luncheon

(Lost Pines VI)


(Barons Ballroom - ABCD)
1:45 PM

Keynote Address:
Modeling Cardiac Function and Dysfunction

Natalia Trayanova, Ph.D.

Murray B. Sachs Endowed Chair, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Joint Appointment, Medicine; Institute for Computational Medicine, Johns Hopkins University

2:30 PM

From Protein Folding to Molecular Machines in Biology

José N. Onuchic, Ph.D. (NAS)

Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Chemistry, and Biochemistry and Cell Biology; Co-director, Center for Theoretical Biological Physics, Rice University

3:00 PM

The Growing Scientific Importance and Competitive Advantage of Supercomputing to Science, Engineering, Medicine—and Texas

Dan Stanzione, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin

3:30 PM


3:45 PM

Special Address:
A New Social Compact for Science

Harvey V. Fineberg, M.D., Ph.D. (IOM)

President, Institute of Medicine

4:00 - 6:00 PM

Presentations by the Recipients of the 2014 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards

6:15 PM


(Lost Pines Foyer)
7:00 - 8:30 PM

O'Donnell Awards Dinner

(Lost Pines Ballroom)
8:30 - 10:00 PM

After Dinner Reception

(Scribes Club)

Friday, January 17, 2014

7:15 - 8:15 AM

Come-and-go Buffet Breakfast

(Barons Ballroom - EFG)


(Barons Ballroom - ABCD)
8:30 AM

Keynote Address:
Computational Science as a New Tool to Map the Human Brain

Henry Markram, Ph.D.

Director, Blue Brain Project; Coordinator, Human Brain Project, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

9:15 AM

Studying the Impacts and Mitigation of Hurricane Storm Surges and Oil Spills

Clint N. Dawson, Ph.D.

Professor and Edward S. Hyman Endowed Chair in Engineering; Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics; Leader of the ICES Computational Hydraulics Group, The University of Texas at Austin

9:45 PM

Visualizing Viruses Inside and Outside the Cells

Wah Chiu, Ph.D. (NAS)

Alvin Romansky Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Director, National Center for Macromolecular Imaging, Baylor College of Medicine

10:15 AM


10:35 AM

Digital Discovery and Design: toward the New Age of Materials on Demand

Sharon C. Glotzer, Ph.D.

Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering, Professor of Material Science & Engineering, Macromolecular Science and Engineering, and Physics, University of Michigan

11:05 AM

Computational Sciences in the Oil and Gas Industry

Thomas C. Halsey, Ph.D.

Chief Computational Scientist, ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company

11:45 PM

Closing Luncheon

(Lost Pines VI-VIII)

Legislative Panel on Higher Education

Moderator: Larry R. Faulkner, Ph.D., President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin

The Honorable Robert Duncan, Texas State Senator
The Honorable Donna Howard, Texas State Representative
The Honorable Diane Patrick, Texas State Representative
The Honorable Judith Zaffirini, Texas State Senator

2:00 PM

Meeting Concludes